Britney Spears

Standard

There were so many negative press about Britney Spears lately. Today I read this report from US Weekly Magazine Issue 667 (Feb 4, 2008) and it inspired me to write this post. Below is an excerpt from the report:

A Bizarre School Visit
Britney Spears is no stranger to odd antics, but her behavior on January 7 was particularly bizarre. A source tells Usmagazine the “scantily clad” pop star showed up at a Beverly Hills elementary school, saying she was there to pick up someone else’s kids.

(She lost custody of her own sons January 4 after being rushed to the hospital. She blew off a custody hearing yesterday.)

The singer parked her car outside the school just before 3 p.m. and spent 10 minutes smoking cigarettes and talking to herself while she waited for classes to let out.

“She was just rambling and confused,” says the witness, who approached Spears to ask if she was OK. “She said, ‘I’m here to pick up my kids.’ But then she changed her story and said, ‘They aren’t my kids; I have a new attorney, and I came to pick them up for her.’”

Adds the witness, “All I could think was, Who in their right mind would let her pick up their kids?”

As children began to leave for the day, the star, 26, caused a commotion — “It became the talk of the school. Some of the kids were freaked out,” says a school source. She was directed to a more secure entrance around back.

But before getting into her car and driving off (without any children), she chatted up the female witness: “She said, ‘You’re so nice. You should give me your number. I don’t have very many friends.’”

Isn’t this just very sad? I remember a few years ago I saw footages of Britney having a free concert in Hawaii and her going around town doing things. One time she popped up at a school’s classroom totally unexpected, and the teacher who was having a class seemed so surprised! So were the little students! They went nuts! Everyone loved her, wanted to hug her and get her pictures taken. Another time she showed up at her no. 1 fan’s door and totally blew the girl’s mind away! She was so adored by kids and parents back then. Now? A few years later, people say stuff like “who in their right mind would let her pick up their kids?”

How sad! How did Britney go from being America’s sweetheart to nowadays as people call her, a weirdo? I couldn’t help my thought for linking to Michael, I wasn’t here during the period, but how did he go from a mega superstar that everyone worshipped to a bizarre (although I never think so!) that people say they wish he just disappears? I want to know what happened, or are people just too extreme? I don’t even call myself a Britney fan, but I don’t wish to see her like this, I know how to separate an artist’s work from his/her personal life. She may have done some harms, but not to me! So if she comes out with a good quality album (such as Blackout), I would still go out there and purchase it! I wish people can just be more respectful!

Leave a Reply

