More books by Marjane Satrapi

Standard

Both of these books by Marjane Satrapi (author of Persepolis) were irresistable!

Embroideries tells a tale of a bunch of women in the Satrapi family and female friends having a conversation about men, attitudes, and sex. It was ironic and sarcastic at places which I thought was very humorous, especially having come from several Iranian women! Again, Marjane succeeded in telling this great story because of her keen observations.

Chicken with Plums, I had the hardest time figuring the title out until one day, somebody asked a really simple question, “Does it ‘taste’ good?” Of course! When I got to about 1/3 of the book, it mentioned the main character’s favorite dish Chicken With Plums. Silly me, all this time I thought there was some deep meaning to the title. I guess I just never associated the sad story with a delicious dish. The story was about Marjane’s late uncle, who decided to die after his beloved music instrument got broken and what happened during the 7 days he was fasting himself. I’m thinking the meaning of the story was about how one would sacrifice one’s life for something one loves?!? Of course I didn’t get it, to me, nothing’s more precious than life! But I enjoyed the book anyway because of Marjane’s unique drawings.

Leave a Reply

